I Was Born in New York City (NYC)

I was born in Newdeven1bday York City on May 5, 2008. It was on Cinco De Mayo. My first birthday party was in New York and it was a Mexican-themed party but I don’t really like Mexican food. This year, I started to like tacos—but only hard tacos not soft tacos.

When I was 9 months old, I was a research participant at the New York University (NYU). I got a certificate for participating in a study about whether or not I would jump off the top of a ramp… and I almost did! My mom says the ramp was really high. She was holding some toys and they were watching me to see if I would try to jump off the ramp to get to her.

They had babies who lived in places with stairs and babies who lived in places without stairs. I was a baby who lived in a place without stairs (since I was born in an apartment). They said that I jumped because I never fell from a stair before so I wasn’t really scared. Some babies did not jump and that was probably because they had stairs in their house and had gotten hurt. I also think some babies might just be scared. Here is a picture of the certificate I got from New York University.

devenshahcerticatenyu

I moved from amitadevengradNew York City to D.C. after I turned one. I didn’t really remember New York City that well so I really wanted to go back there. I got to go back this May. I also got to meet my grandparents from Maryland there. My mom was graduating from Columbia University for her doctorate in Curriculum and Teaching. So we went to her graduation.

I also got to see the apartments that I was born in (they are behind me in the picture). After the graduation she told me that I had to call her Dr. Mom but I still call her Mom and she gets sort of upset but it’s more like a silly upset because she is not really upset.

I also got to go to the Statue of Liberty. I was really excited to see it because I was learning about it in kindergarten. I learned all about the national symbols. I knew that the Statue of Liberty came from the French. It was a gift for our independence on July 4th.

statueoflib

I also wanted to go to Times Square because I saw it in movies and books and couldn’t wait to see it at night when it was all lit up. When I got there, I met Spiderman, Ironman, Woody, Despicable Me!, Alvin and the Chipmunks, and Uncle Sam. I also saw Elmo and Cookie Monster, but I’m not a big fan of them anymore.

timessquare

Some other things I liked about New York was the subway. I took the subway to visit my friend Noel and Isabel who live near Columbia University. I saw the empire state building. I also liked my hotel and that they had tea whenever I wanted to have it. New York was a lot of fun. It is one of my favorite cities.

2 thoughts on “I Was Born in New York City (NYC)

  1. Wow! Very impressive. Like your first commercial. And of course your tidy room. And keep up the hard work. Love u.

Leave a Reply

